The Saskatchewan Winter Cereals Development Commission (SWCDC) is the provincially designated representative organization for producers of Winter Cereals in the province of Saskatchewan.

Winter Cereals include Winter Wheat (Triticum aestivum L), Fall Rye (Secale cereale L) and Winter Triticale (Triticale x Triticosecale Wittmack). These crops fit into an ecologically sound rotation plan and can be used as a product for milling, feed and ethanol production.

In 2005, Winter Cereals Canada Inc surveyed producers throughout Saskatchewan with 93.1% of those surveyed and growing at least one winter cereal supporting the formation of a Winter Cereals Commission. SWCDC officially began in 2006 with publication of Orders 01/06 to 05/06 in The Saskatchewan Gazette, September 8, 2006 and operates under the provisions of “The Winter Cereals Development Plan” (effective August 16, 2006) and The Agri-Food Act, 2004. The organization held its inaugural meeting in August 2006 in Regina, Saskatchewan.

SWCDC is managed by a board of volunteer producers elected by members and confirmed at the Annual General Meeting. All producers who pay the levy and do not request a refund become members of the SWCDC and are eligible to vote and hold office in the organization.

SWCDC works closely with Winter Cereals Canada Inc., Winter Cereals Manitoba Inc., the Alberta Wheat Commission, the Saskatchewan Wheat Commission and other industry and government partners to combine our resources and increase our impact on winter cereals agronomy.